During the 70s and 80s, a large number of Indo-American physicians entered the field of Oncology. In 1993, under the leadership of Dr. Chiti Moorthy, The Indo-American Cancer Congress was formed in New York city out of a desire to organize these group of oncologists into a cohesive agent for change. From 1997 to 2006, Dr. Sewa Legha served as the president of IACC, which initially held its gatherings as part of sister conferences at American Society of Clinical Oncologists (ASCO) meets.

In 2003, under the leadership of Dr. M.V Pillai, IACC organized and National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) conference in Jaipur, India. The NCCN conference welcomed more than 50 cancer specialists and included a majority of leaders in cancer care in India, with the Indian team led by Dr. Desai. The closing ceremony was attended by then president of India, Mr. Abdul Kalam. In 2004, in an effort led by then secretary Dr. Jame Abraham, an official website and social media outreach effort increased official membership substantially. A year later, IACC evolved into IACA and in 2006, led by Dr. Vinay Jain, it acquired official non-profit status from the IRS.

In 2007, the Travelling Fellowship program was created and chaired by Dr. Legha and in 2008, IACA decided to make Pain and Palliative Care a primary focus of its mission. More information about main IACA projects can be found under What We Do.

The current executive committee consists of Dr. Swaminathan Iyer, Dr. Kirti Jain, Dr. Shaji Kumar, Dr. Kush Sachdeva, Dr. Hari Parameswara and Dr. Manoj Agarwal.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *